Back to top

University Contacts

AlabamaAlaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | MassachusettsMichigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | South CarolinaTennessee | Texas | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin


Alabama

Barrett Vaughan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist
Tuskegee University
College of Agriculture, Environment and Nutrition Sciences
200-E T.M. Campbell Hall
Tuskegee, AL 36088
Cell: (334) 552-1152
E-mail: btvaughan@mytu.tuskegee.edu

Puneet Srivastava, Ph.D., P.E.
Director, Water Resources Center
Professor, Biosystems Engineering
Auburn University
203 Hubbard CASIC Building
559 Devall Drive
Auburn, AL 36849-0001
Phone: (334) 844-5542 (Water Resources Center)
Phone: (334) 844-7426 (Biosystems Engineering)
E-mail: srivapu@auburn.edu

Armitra Jackson-Davis, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Food and Animal Sciences
Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University
Phone: (256) 372-7132
Fax: (256) 372-5432
E-mail: armitra.davis@aamu.edu

Eric Reutebuch
Director, Alabama Water Watch Program
Water Resources Center
Auburn University
207 Hubbard CASIC Building
559 Devall Drive
Auburn, AL 36849-0001
Phone: (334) 844-4785
E-mail: reuteem@auburn.edu

 


Alaska

Meriam Karlsson, Ph.D.
Professor of Horticulture
University of Alaska Fairbanks
106 Arctic Health Res. Bldg.
303 O'Neill Bldg.
PO Box 757200
Fairbanks, AK 99775-7200
Phone: (907) 474-7005
Fax: (907) 474-1538
E-mail: mgkarlsson@alaska.edu

Barbara Hanson
Dairy Sanitarian
Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation
Office of the State Veterinarian
5251 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Ave.
Anchorage, AK 99507
Phone: (907) 375-8278
Fax: (907) 929-7335
E-mail: barbara.hanson@alaska.gov


Arizona

Channah Rock, Ph.D. 
Associate Professor & Extension Specialist-Water Quality
Dept. of Soil, Water, and Environmental Science
University of Arizona
Maricopa Agricultural Center
37860 W Smith-Enke Rd.
Maricopa, AZ 85138
Office: (520) 374-6258
Cell: (480) 628-9794
E-mail: crock@email.arizona.edu

Kurt Nolte, Ph.D.
Director, Yuma Agricultural Center
Dept. of Plant Sciences
University of Arizona
Yuma Agricultural Center
6425 W 8th St
Yuma, AZ 85364
Office: (928) 782-3836
E-mail: knolte@email.arizona.edu

Paula Rivadeneira, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist, Food Safety and Wildlife
Dept. of Soil, Water, and Environmental Science
University of Arizona 
Yuma Agricultural Center
6425 W 8th St.
Yuma, AZ 85364
Cell: (928) 919-2611
E-mail: pkrivadeneira@email.arizona.edu


Arkansas

Kristen E. Gibson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Molecular Food Safety & Microbiology
University of Arkansas
Dept. of Food Science
FDSC Building, Rm N220
Fayetteville, AR 72704
Phone: (479) 575-6844
E-mail: keg005@uark.edu


California

Linda J. Harris, Ph.D.
Cooperative Extension Specialist 
University of California-Davis 
Dept. of Food Science & Technology 
One Shields Avenue 
Davis, CA 95616-8598 
Phone: (530) 754-9485
Fax: (530) 752-4759 
E-mail: ljharris@ucdavis.edu

Trevor V. Suslow, Ph.D.
Cooperative Extension Specialist 
Dept. of Vegetable Crops 
University of California 
One Shields Avenue 
Davis, CA 95616-8683 
Phone: (530) 754- 8313
Fax (530) 752-4554 
E-mail: tvsuslow@ucdavis.edu


Colorado

Marisa Bunning, Ph.D. 
Colorado State University 
Dept. of Food Science and Human Nutrition 
Ft. Collins, CO 80523-1571 
Phone: (970) 491-7180 
Cell: (970) 215-3778 
Fax: (970) 491-7252 
E-mail: marisa.bunning@colostate.edu 


Connecticut

Diane Wright Hirsch, MPH, RD
Senior Extension Educator/Food Safety
University of Connecticut
New Haven County Extension Center
305 Skiff Street
North Haven, CT 06473
Phone: (203) 407-3163
Fax: (203) 407-3176
E-mail: diane.hirsch@uconn.edu


Delaware

Kali Kniel, Ph.D.
Professor
Microbial Food Safety
Dept. of Animal and Food Sciences
College of Agriculture and Natural Resources
University of Delaware
531 S College Ave,
44 Townsend Hall
Newark, DE 19716
Phone: (302) 831-6513
Fax: (302) 831-2822
E-mail: kniel@udel.edu


Florida

Michelle D. Danyluk, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Extension Specialist
Food Microbiology
UF/IFAS CREC
700 Experiment Station Rd.
Lake Alfred, FL 33803
Phone: (863) 956-8654
Fax: (863) 956-4631
E-mail: mddanyluk@ufl.edu

Travis Chapin
Biological Scientist
Citrus Research and Education Center
University of Florida 
700 Experiment Station Rd.
Lake Alfred, FL 33803
Phone: (863) 956-8656
E-mail: tkchapin@ufl.edu

Renee Goodrich Schneider, Ph.D.
Professor 
University of Florida 
Food Science & Human Nutrition Department Food Science & Extension Specialist - Food and Beverage Processing
329 FSHN Bldg. Newell Drive
PO Box 110370
Gainesville, FL 32611-0370
Phone: (352) 392-1991, ext 208
E-mail: goodrich@ufl.edu

Keith R. Schneider, Ph.D.
Professor, FSHN
University of Florida
359 FSHN Bldg., Newell Dr.
Gainesville, FL 32611
Phone: (352) 294-3910 
E-mail: keiths29@ufl.edu


Georgia

William C. Hurst, Ph.D. 
University of Georgia 
301 Food Science Building 
Athens, GA 30602 
Phone: (706) 542-0993
Fax: (706) 542-9066
E-mail: bhurst@uga.edu

Marilyn C. Erickson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
University of Georgia
Center for Food Safety
1109 Experiment St.
Griffin, GA 30223
Phone: (770) 412-4742
Fax: (770) 229-3216
E-mail: mericks@uga.edu

Mark A. Harrison, Ph.D.
Dept. of Food Science & Technology
University of Georgia
340 Food Science Building
Athens, GA 30602
Phone: (706) 542-1088
FAX:  (706) 542-1050
E-mail: mahfst@uga.edu

Judy A. Harrison, Ph.D.
Dept. of Foods and Nutrition
University of Georgia
204 Hoke Smith Annex
Athens, GA  30602
Phone:  (706) 542-3773
FAX:  (706) 542-1979
Email: judyh@uga.edu

 


Hawaii

Lynn Nakamura-Tengan
Extension Educator
310 Kaahumanu Ave., Bldg 214
Kahului, HI 96732
Phone: (808) 244-3242, ext 233
Fax: (808) 244-7089
E-mail: lynnnaka@hawaii.edu


Illinois

Mosbah M. Kushad, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Natural Resources and Environmental Science
University of Illinois
279 EMRL
1201 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, Illinois 61801
Phone: (217) 244-5691
Fax: (217) 333-8816
E-mail: kushad@uiuc.edu


Indiana

Amanda J. Deering, Ph.D.
Clinical Assistant Professor
Fresh Produce Food Safety
Purdue University
Dept. of Food Science
745 Agriculture Mall Drive
West Lafayette, IN 47907
Office: (765) 494-0512
Cell: (765) 586-7544
E-mail: adeering@purdue.edu

Scott Monroe
Food Safety Educator
Purdue Extension
Southwest Purdue Agricultural Center
4369 N. Purdue Road
Vincennes, IN 47591
Office: (812) 886-0198
Fax: (812) 886-6693
Cell: (765) 427-9910
E-mail: jsmonroe@purdue.edu

 

 

 

 


 


Iowa

Angela M. Shaw, Ph.D.
Iowa State University
Assistant Professor
Food Science and Human Nutrition
Food Safety Extension
2577 Food Science Building, Ames, IA 50011
Office: (515) 294-0868
E-mail: angelaml@iastate.edu
Website: Iowa State University GAPs


Kansas

Londa Vanderwal Nwadike, Ph.D.
State Extension Food Safety Specialist
Kansas State University/University of Missouri
22201 W. Innovation Drive
Olathe, KS 66061
Phone: (913) 307-7391
E-mail: lnwadike@ksu.edu

 


Kentucky

Paul Priyesh Vijayakumar, Ph.D.
Assistant Extension Professor-
Food Science
Animal and Food Science
Food Systems Innovation Center
213 W.P. Garrigus Building
Lexington, KY 40546-0215
(859) 257-1546
Fax (859) 257-5318
E-mail: paul.v@uky.edu


Louisiana

Achyut Adhikari, Ph.D. 
Assistant Professor
Extension Food Safety Specialist
LSU AgCenter
School of Nutrition and Food Science
263 Knapp Hall
110 LSU Union Square
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Phone: (225) 578-2529
Fax: (225) 578-4443
E-mail: ACAdhikari@agcenter.lsu.edu


Maine

Jason Bolton, Ph.D.
Associate Extension Professor and Food Safety Specialist
University of Maine Cooperative Extension
5735 Hitchner Hall
University of Maine
Orono, Maine 04469
Phone: (207) 581-1366
E-mail: Jason.Bolton@maine.edu


Maryland

Christopher S. Walsh, Ph.D.
Professor, Horticulture
Plant Science & Landscape Architecture
2136 Plant Sciences Building
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742
Phone: (301) 405-4351
Fax: (301) 314-9308
E-mail: cswalsh@umd.edu


Massachusetts

Lisa McKeag
Extension Educator
UMass Extension Vegetable Program
111 Agricultural Engineering Building
University of Massachusetts
250 Natural Resources Rd.
Amherst, MA 01003-9295
Phone (cell): 917-573-5558
Phone (office): 413-577-3976
E-mail: lmckeag@umext.umass.edu

Michael Anthony Botelho
Commonwealth Quality Program Coordinator
Massachusetts Dept. of Agricultural Resources
251 Causeway Street, Suite 500
Boston, MA 02114-2151
Phone (cell): 508-985-8751
Phone (office): 617-626-1721
Fax: 617-626-1850
E-mail: michael.botelho@state.ma.us

Amanda Kinchla
Extension Specialist
Food Science Department
University of Massachusetts
Chenoweth Laboratory
Amherst, MA 01003
Phone: 413-545-1017
E-mail:  amanda.kinchla@foodsci.umass.edu


Michigan

Leslie D. Bourquin
Professor and Food Safety Specialist
Dept. of Food Science and Human Nutrition
Michigan State University
139A G. Malcolm Trout FSHN Building
469 Wilson Road
East Lansing, MI 48824-1224
Phone: (517) 353-3329
E-mail: bourqui1@msu.edu

Phil Tocco
Agriculture/Natural Resources
MSU Extension-Jackson County
E-mail: tocco@msu.edu
Website: MSU Agrifood Safety Workgroup


Minnesota

Annalisa Hultberg
Extension Educator, On-Farm Food Safety | Extension
University of Minnesota
1390 Eckles Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55108-6005
Phone: (612) 625-1951
E-mail: hultb006@umn.edu
Website: www.extension.umn.edu/


Mississippi

Nicole A. Bell
Food Safety and Agribusiness Specialist
Alcorn State University
Mississippi Small Farm Development Center
1000 ASU Drive #1080
Alcorn State, MS 39096-7500
Phone: (601) 877–2425 
Fax: (601) 877–3931 
E-mail: nbell@alcorn.edu 
Website: www.alcorn.edu

Juan L. Silva
Food Processing & Safety
Mississippi State University
PO Box 9805
945 Stone Blvd, 107 Herzer bldg
Miss State, MS 39762
Phone: (662) 325-3200
E-mail: jls@msstate.edu

Joy Fox Anderson, Ph.D.
Extension Agent, County Director
MSU Extension - Desoto County
Agriculture Office, 3260 Hwy 51 S.
Hernando, MS 38632
Phone: (662) 469-8480
Fax: (662)-429-5586
E-mail: joy.f.anderson@msstate.edu
Website: MSU Extension

 


Missouri

Londa Vanderwal Nwadike, Ph.D.
State Extension Food Safety Specialist
Kansas State University/University of Missouri
105 East 5th Street, Suite 200
Kansas City, MO 64106
Phone: (816) 482-5860
E-mail: nwadikel@missouri.edu


Montana

Lynn C. Paul, EdD, RD
MSU Extension Food and Nutrition Specialist
101 Romney 
PO Box 173370
Bozeman, MT 59717-3370
E-mail: lpaul@montana.edu
Phone: (406) 994-5702
Fax: (406) 994-7300


Nebraska

Connie Fisk, Ph.D.
Extension Educator – Regional Food Systems
Nebraska Extension in Cass County
8400 144th St., Suite 100
Weeping Water, NE 68486-1932
Phone: (402) 267-2205
E-mail: connie.fisk@unl.edu

Sarah Browning
Extension Educator, Horticulture  
Nebraska Extension in Lancaster County
444 Cherrycreek Road, Suite A 
Lincoln, NE 68528
Phone: (402) 441-7180 
E-mail: sbrowning2@unl.edu


New Jersey

Wesley L. Kline, Ph.D.
Agricultural Agent (Associate Professor)
Rutgers Cooperative Extension of Cumberland County
291 Morton Avenue 
Millville, NJ 08332-9776
Phone: (856) 451-2800
Fax: (856) 451-4206
E-mail: wkline@njaes.rutgers.edu
Website: njveg.rutgers.edu

Donald W. Schaffner, Ph.D.
Dept. of Food Science 
65 Dudley Rd.
Rutgers University
State University of New Jersey
New Brunswick, NJ 08901-8520
Phone: (732) 982-7475
Fax: (732) 932-6776
E-mail: schaffner@aesop.rutgers.edu
Website: http://foodsci.rutgers.edu/schaffner

Richard W. VanVranken
County Agricultural Agent
Rutgers Cooperative Extension of Atlantic Co.
6260 Old Harding Highway
Mays Landing, NJ 08330
Phone: (609) 625-0056
Fax: (609) 625-3646
E-mail: vanvranken@rcre.rutgers.edu

Meredith Melendez
Agricultural and Resource Management Agent 
Assistant Professor
Rutgers NJAES Cooperative Extension of Mercer County
930 Spruce Street
Trenton, NJ 08648
Phone: 609-989-6830
Fax: 609-396-9573
E-mail: melendez@njaes.rutgers.edu
Website: www.njaes.rutgers.edu


New Mexico

Nancy C. Flores, Ph.D.
Food Technology Specialist
New Mexico State University
Dept. of Extension Home Economics
PO Box 30003 MSC 3AE
Las Cruces, NM 88003-8003
Phone: (575) 646-1179
Fax: (575) 646-1889
E-mail: naflores@nmsu.edu

Stephanie J. Walker, Ph.D.
Vegetable Specialist
New Mexico State University
Dept. of Extension Plant Sciences
PO Box 30003 MSC 3AE
Las Cruces, NM 88003-8003
Phone: (575) 646-4398
Fax: (575) 646-8085
E-mail: swalker@nmsu.edu

 


New York

Elizabeth A. Bihn, Ph.D.
Cornell University
Dept. of Food Science
630 West North Street
Geneva, NY 14456
Phone: (315) 787-2625
Fax: (315) 787-2216
E-mail: eab38@cornell.edu
Website: www.gaps.cornell.edu

Marvin P. Pritts, Ph.D.
Cornell University 
Dept. of Horticulture 
119 Plant Science 
Ithaca, NY 14853 
Phone: (607) 255-1778 
E-mail: mpp3@cornell.edu

Anusuya Rangarajan, Ph.D.
Cornell University 
Dept. of Horticulture 
121 Plant Science
Ithaca, NY 15853 
Phone: (607) 255-1780 
E-mail: ar47@cornell.edu

Randy W. Worobo, Ph.D.
Dept. of Food Science
Cornell University
630 West North Street
Geneva, NY 14456
Phone: (315) 787-2279 
Fax: (315) 787-2284 
E-mail: rww8@cornell.edu


North Carolina

Benjamin Chapman, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Food Safety Specialist
Dept.t of 4-H Youth Development and Family & Consumer Sciences
North Carolina State University
NC Cooperative Extension
Phone: (919) 515-8099
Cell: (919) 809-3205
E-mail: benjamin_chapman@ncsu.edu

Diane T. Ducharme
GAPs Program Coordinator and
Extension Associate in Horticulture & Food Safety
NC MarketReady 
NC State University at the NC Research Campus
600 Laureate Way 
Kannapolis, NC 28081
Phone: (704) 250-5402
Fax: (704) 250-5409
E-mail: Diane_Ducharme@ncsu.edu

Chris Gunter
Assistant Professor 
Vegetable Production
230 Kilgore Hall, Box 7609
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7609
Phone: (919) 513-2807
Fax: (919) 515-2505
E-mail: chris_gunter@ncsu.edu

 


Ohio

Ashley Kulhanek
Agriculture and Natural Resources
Extension Educator
Medina County
The Ohio State University
120 West Washington Street, Suite 1L
Medina, OH 44256
Phone: (330) 725-4911, ext. 106
E-mail: kulhanek.5@osu.edu

Sanja Ilic, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor and Food Safety State Specialist
The Ohio State University
Department of Human Sciences Human Nutrition
331B Campbell Hall, 1787 Neil Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210
Office: (614) 292-4076
Cell: (614)-216-5053
E-mail: ilic.2@osu.edu

Doug Doohan
Professor
Horticulture & Crop Science
Agricultural Risk Analysis Program
The Ohio State University
Phone: (330) 202-3593
Fax: (330) 263-3685
E-mail: doohan.1@osu.edu


Oklahoma

Lynn Brandenberger
Professor & Extension/Research
Oklahoma State University
Horticulture
358 Ag Hall
Stillwater, OK 74078-6027
Phone: (405) 744-5408
Fax: (405) 744-9709
E-mail: lynn.brandenberger@okstate.edu 

William G. McGlynn
Professor of Horticulture & Landscape Architecture
Oklahoma State University
Food & Ag. Products Center Room
Stillwater, OK 74078-6027
Phone: (405) 744-7573
E-mail: william.mcglynn@okstate.edu

 


Oregon

 


Pennsylvania

Luke F. LaBorde, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Food Science
Penn State University
Phone: (814) 863-2298
Fax: (814) 863-6132
E-mail: lfl5@psu.edu
Website: http://foodsafety.cas.psu.edu/


South Carolina

Julie K. Northcutt, Ph.D.
Professor, Dept. of Food, Nutrition and Packaging Sciences
Extension Program Team Leader, Food Safety & Nutrition Program
Cooperative Extension Service
Clemson University
Box 340316
Clemson, SC 29634-0316
Phone: (864) 656-3688
Fax: (864) 656-0331
E-mail: jknorth@clemson.edu
 


Tennessee

Annette Wszelaki, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Commercial Vegetable Extension Specialist
The University of Tennessee
Dept. of Plant Sciences
252 Ellington Plant Sciences Building
2431 Joe Johnson Dr.
Knoxville, TN 37996
Phone: (865) 974-8332
E-mail: awszelak@utk.edu

Faith Critzer
Assistant Professor
Food Safety Extension Specialist
The University of Tennessee
Food Science & Technology
208 Food Science & Technology Building
2510 River Dr.
Knoxville, TN 37996
Phone: (865) 974-7331
E-mail: faithc@utk.edu 


Texas

Juan R. Anciso, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor and Extension Vegetable Specialist
Texas Cooperative Extension
2401 East Highway 83
Weslaco, Texas 78596
Phone: (956) 968-5581
Fax: (956) 969-5639
E-mail: j-anciso@tamu.edu

 


Vermont

Ginger Nickerson, PhD
GAPs Outreach Coordinator
UVM Center for Sustainable Agriculture
106 High Point Center—Suite 300
Colchester, VT 05446
Phone: (802) 656-5490
Cell: (802) 249-6701
Fax: (802) 656-8874
E-mail: gnickers@uvm.edu


Virginia

Rob Williams, Ph.D.
Extension Food Safety Specialist
Virginia Tech
Dept. of Food Science and Technology
Food Science & Technology Bldg.
Blacksburg, VA 20461-0327
Phone: (540) 231-4106
Fax: (540) 231-9293
E-mail: rowilli5@vt.edu

Laura K. Strawn, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor and  Extension Specialist
Virginia Tech - Eastern Shore AREC
33446 Research Drive
Painter, VA 23420 
Office: (757) 414-0724, ext. 12
Cell: (714) 450-0629
E-mail: Lstrawn@vt.edu


Washington

B. Susie Craig
Professor
Area Specialist Food Safety and Health
Washington State University
4727 227th Place SE
Sammamish, WA 98075
Phone: (206) 910-0528
E-mail: scraig@wsu.edu
Website: www.germcity.wsu.edu

Stephanie Smith, Ph.D.
Consumer Food Safety Specialist
Assistant Professor
Washington State University
PO Box 646376
Pullman, WA 99164-6376
Phone: (509) 335-0972
E-mail: steph.smith@wsu.edu
 


West Virginia

Doolarie Singh-Knights, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist 
Agricultural Economics 
West Virginia University
G211 North Agricultural Sciences Bldg.
333 Evansdale Drive, PO Box 6108
Morgantown, WV 26506
E-mail: Dosingh-knights@mail.wvu.edu
Phone: (304) 293-7606
Fax: (304) 293-3752
Website: http://ext.wvu.edu/people/anr/doolarie-singh-knights


Wisconsin

Barbara H. Ingham, Ph.D.
Professor & Food Safety Specialist
University of Wisconsin-Madison 
Dept of Food Science 
1605 Linden Drive
Madison, WI 53706
Phone: (608) 263-7383 
Fax: (608) 262-6872
E-mail: bhingham@wisc.edu